Dermorphin
A seven-amino-acid peptide from frog skin that is a far stronger mu-opioid agonist than morphine; best known from illegal use in racehorses.
Not approved for human or veterinary use.
Look it up on Wikipedia6 listings across 5 independently tested vendors, ranked by price per milligram after coupon codes anyone can use. Vendors you can only order from by message are hidden.
Not an FDA-approved drug and not nominated for FDA's 503A bulks list, so US pharmacies can't legally compound it.
Daily price tracking started October 7, 2026; a price-history chart appears here once a few days have been collected.
| Vendor | Trust | Listing | Vials | Price | Per mg | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Huatai Peptide #15 by metascore · China |
Metascore 85Finnrick 72%Bought vials 97% of label · 12 testsTitrateLabNo report for thisConfirmed with lab: 15 of 15Online checkout |
Dermorphin 10Bottlex5mg | 10 × 5 mg = 50 mg | $44.00 $4.40 per vial |
$0.880 | Buy |
Huaian Dinglin Trading #268 by metascore · China |
Metascore 70Finnrick 61%Bought vials 97% of label · 10 testsTitrateLabNo report for thisOnline checkout |
Dermorphin 5mgx10vials | 10 × 5 mg = 50 mg | $55.00 $5.50 per vial |
$1.10 | Buy |
Qingdao Sigma Chemical QSC #69 by metascore |
Dermorphin 5mg | 20-Vial Kit | Opioid Heptapeptide | µ-Receptor Research | 20 × 5 mg = 100 mg | $430.00 $21.50 per vial |
$4.30 | Buy | |
Qingdao Sigma Chemical QSC #69 by metascore |
Dermorphin 5mg | 10-Vial Kit | Opioid Heptapeptide | µ-Receptor Research | 10 × 5 mg = 50 mg | $240.00 $24.00 per vial |
$4.80 | Buy | |
LMR #89 by metascore |
Metascore 76 medium confidenceFinnrick 85%Bought vials 117% of label · 6 testsTitrateLabNo report for thisOnline checkout |
DR | 10 vials, size not stated | $85.00 $8.50 per vial |
– | Buy |
PeptiSlim #68 by metascore · US |
Metascore 78Finnrick 75%Bought vials 105% of label · 73 testsTitrateLabNo report for thisOnline checkout |
DR | 10 vials, size not stated | $85.00 $8.50 per vial |
– | Buy |
Mixing a 5 mg vial
What each common amount of bacteriostatic water gives you on a U-100 insulin syringe. Pick a vial size above to change it.
| Water | Strength | Per 10 units (0.1 mL) | Per unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 mL | 5 mg/mL | 500 mcg | 50 mcg |
| 2 mL | 2.5 mg/mL | 250 mcg | 25 mcg |
| 3 mL | 1.667 mg/mL | 166.7 mcg | 16.67 mcg |
| 5 mL | 1 mg/mL | 100 mcg | 10 mcg |
Doses studied in research Studied in people
What was given to people (or animals) in published studies and official labels, each linked to its source. This is not a recommendation: study products, purity and supervision differ from research-grade vials.
| Who was studied | Dose given | How often | For how long | What happened | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| patients with postoperative pain after elective surgery n = 150 |
20 micrograms intrathecal | single dose | single administration | analgesia lasted 43.4 h vs 34.5 h with intrathecal morphine 500 micrograms and 10.8 h with intramuscular pentazocine; side effects similar across groups | PubMed |
Animal studies: Horses were given about 9.3 μg/kg IV or IM in a pharmacokinetic study; rodent pain studies of the analog DALDA used 1-10 mg/kg subcutaneously or intraperitoneally.
A single 1985 trial; dermorphin was never developed or approved and is a banned doping agent. It is a potent mu-opioid agonist. Doses in animal studies do not translate directly to people.
What the research says
Dermorphin is a frog-skin opioid peptide that acts as a highly potent, selective mu-opioid agonist (reported 30-40 times more potent than morphine); most of the evidence is animal pharmacology and reviews. It has no approved human use and is a banned doping agent that was misused in horse racing. One 1985 randomized double-blind trial (150 postoperative patients) found intrathecal dermorphin gave longer pain relief than intrathecal morphine or intramuscular pentazocine, but it has never been repeated.
Key papers ✓ 2~ 1? 5
-
Rediscovery of old drugs: the forgotten case of dermorphin for postoperative pain and palliation.No new dataNarrative review / drug-repurposing analysis
Review arguing for re-examining intrathecal dermorphin for postoperative and palliative pain; it notes a single 1985 randomized placebo-controlled trial reported superiority over placebo and morphine, after which the drug was never developed clinically.
Study details
- Authors' conclusion
- A 1985 randomized placebo-controlled trial reported intrathecal dermorphin impressively superior to placebo and morphine in postoperative pain, yet it was never developed clinically; the authors suggest new studies of safety and efficacy.
- Limitations
- Review resting largely on one 1985 trial and animal data; no new data.
-
Pharmacology of amphibian opiate peptides.No new dataNarrative pharmacology review
Pharmacology review: dermorphins are selective mu-opioid agonists from Phyllomedusa frog skin whose D-amino acid at position 2 underlies their potency, offering models for novel analgesics.
Study details
- Authors' conclusion
- Dermorphins are selective mu-opioid agonists from frog skin containing a D-amino acid at position 2; they provided models for novel analgesics with enhanced benefits and reduced toxicity.
- Limitations
- Narrative review with no original data.
-
Dermorphin tetrapeptide analogs as potent and long-lasting analgesics with pharmacological profiles distinct from morphine.No new dataNarrative review of dermorphin N-terminal tetrapeptide analogs
Review of dermorphin tetrapeptide analogs: in animals they produce antinociception stronger than morphine by various routes and some show pharmacological profiles distinct from morphine.
Study details
- Authors' conclusion
- D-Arg2 tetrapeptide analogs show antinociceptive activity greater than morphine by various routes, and some stimulate dynorphin release, which may reduce side effects; they may be targets for novel analgesics with fewer side effects.
- Limitations
- Narrative review; only a handful of analogs developed.
-
Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of dermorphin in the horse.Animals10 animalsPlasma detection to 12 h; urine 48-72 hPharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic study
In 10 horses given dermorphin IV or IM, the half-life was under an hour; IV dosing caused excitation and increased heart rate, and the drug was detectable in urine for 48-72 hours.
Key resultIV elimination half-life 0.76 +/- 0.22 h; IM terminal half-life 0.68 +/- 0.24 h; IM bioavailability 47-100% (n=3); heart-rate EC50 21.1 +/- 8.8 ng/mL; detected in plasma 12 h and urine 48 or 72 h
Study details
- Studied
- Horses given dermorphin (9.3 +/- 1.0 ug/kg) intravenously and/or intramuscularly
- Main outcome
- Plasma concentration-time profile, heart rate and behavior, urinary excretion
- Sample
- 10 horses
- Authors' conclusion
- Dermorphin has a short half-life in horses, with excitation and increased heart rate after IV dosing only, and remains detectable in urine for 48-72 h.
- Limitations
- Small number of horses; IM bioavailability in only 3 horses.
-
Intrathecal dermorphine in postoperative analgesia.Humans150 peopleRandomizedDouble-blindProspective randomized double-blind comparison of intrathecal dermorphine, intrathecal morphine and intramuscular pentazocine
150 postoperative patients: intrathecal dermorphin (20 micrograms) gave pain relief lasting about 43 h versus 34 h for intrathecal morphine and 11 h for intramuscular pentazocine, with similar side effects.
Key resultAnalgesia lasted 43.41 +/- 1.64 hr with dermorphine vs 34.45 +/- 2.35 hr with morphine and 10.79 +/- 2.23 hr with pentazocine.
Study details
- Studied
- Patients after elective surgery
- Compared with
- Intrathecal morphine (500 micrograms); intramuscular pentazocine (30 mg)
- Main outcome
- Duration of postoperative pain relief
- Sample
- 150 consecutive patients after elective surgery
- Authors' conclusion
- Intrathecal dermorphine produced profound, longer-lasting analgesia; urinary retention, vomiting and headache were not significantly different between groups.
- Limitations
- 1985 trial; abstract gives limited methods detail.
-
Dermorphin blocks apneic response to intravenous bolus injection of fentanyl.Animalssize not reportedAnimal study of intravenous bolus dermorphin and fentanyl, with naloxonazine
Anaesthetized rats: dermorphin pretreatment blocked the apnoea caused by an intravenous bolus of fentanyl, though dermorphin itself caused a brief apnoea on first injection.
Key resultRespiratory recovery after dermorphin took 0.5 min vs 30 min after fentanyl.
Study details
- Studied
- Anesthetized, spontaneously breathing rats
- Main outcome
- Cardiorespiratory responses; fentanyl-induced apnea
- Authors' conclusion
- Dermorphin pretreatment prevented fentanyl-induced apnea in rats, suggesting a possible countermeasure, though dermorphin itself triggered a brief apnea acting on mu1 opioid receptors.
- Limitations
- Rat study, acute respiratory model only.
-
Dermorphin-induced hyperexcitability in hippocampal CA3 and CA1 in vitro.Animalssize not reportedIn vitro electrophysiology of dermorphin, an inactive analogue and naloxone
Rat hippocampal slices: dermorphin (50-100 nM) enhanced CA3 responses and at 500 nM caused epileptiform bursting, an effect blocked by naloxone, supporting a pro-convulsant risk from excess mu-opioid activation.
Key resultThreshold CA3 responses were markedly enhanced at 50-100 nM; at 500 nM all responses became epileptiform.
Study details
- Studied
- Rat hippocampal slices
- Main outcome
- Population responses in CA3 and CA1
- Authors' conclusion
- Excessive mu-opioid receptor activation can be proconvulsant in hippocampus, though at normal levels receptors may act as facilitatory modulators.
- Limitations
- Brain slice study.
-
The dermorphin peptide family.No new dataNarrative review
Review of the dermorphin peptide family: potent mu-opioid analgesics in rodents and primates including man, with less tolerance and dependence than morphine in rodents; evidence cited is largely preclinical.
Study details
- Authors' conclusion
- Dermorphins are potent analgesics with higher efficacy and potency than morphine in rodents and less tolerance, dependence and opiate side effects in chronically exposed rats and mice.
- Limitations
- Narrative review; mostly animal data.
Reported side effects
- reportedUrinary retention, vomiting and headache [ref]
Only one human trial (1985, intrathecal use) reports side effects: urinary retention, vomiting and headache, not significantly different from morphine or pentazocine groups; broader opioid-class risks are uncharacterized for dermorphin.
✓ positive · ✗ negative · ~ mixed · ? inconclusive, judged on each paper's own main outcome. Grades: A strong human evidence → D little or none. Papers and verdicts are drawn from PubMed, Europe PMC and Russian journals (CyberLeninka); not medical advice.
Discussions elsewhere
Experiences and questions about Dermorphin on other sites. Treat anecdotes with care.
Dermorphin: questions people ask
What is Dermorphin?
Opioid peptide. A seven-amino-acid peptide from frog skin that is a far stronger mu-opioid agonist than morphine; best known from illegal use in racehorses.
How much does Dermorphin cost?
The cheapest Dermorphin from an independently tested vendor is $0.880 per mg (Huatai Peptide, Dermorphin 10Bottlex5mg, $44.00). Across 6 listings from 5 vendors the median is $4.30 per mg.
Where can I buy Dermorphin?
5 vendors tested by Finnrick sell Dermorphin. The cheapest per mg right now: Huatai Peptide ($0.880), Huaian Dinglin Trading ($1.10), Qingdao Sigma Chemical QSC ($4.30). 0 of them publish a lab report (COA) for Dermorphin; compare lab scores and reports in the table above before buying.
How much bacteriostatic water for 5 mg of Dermorphin?
Adding 2 mL of bacteriostatic water to a 5 mg vial of Dermorphin gives 2.5 mg/mL: each 10 units on a U-100 insulin syringe holds 250 mcg. With 1 mL it's 5 mg/mL (500 mcg per 10 units); with 3 mL, 1.667 mg/mL (166.7 mcg per 10 units). More water makes small amounts easier to measure. Mixing charts: 5 mg.
Is Dermorphin FDA approved?
Not approved for human or veterinary use.
Can Dermorphin be compounded in the US?
Not an FDA-approved drug and not nominated for FDA's 503A bulks list, so US pharmacies can't legally compound it. Compounding status for every peptide.
Does Dermorphin work? What does the research say?
Evidence grade B (some human evidence), from 8 papers: One 1985 randomized trial (150 postoperative patients) of intrathecal dermorphin for pain; everything else is animal pharmacology and reviews. Dermorphin is a frog-skin opioid peptide that acts as a highly potent, selective mu-opioid agonist (reported 30-40 times more potent than morphine); most of the evidence is animal pharmacology and reviews. It has no approved human use and is a banned doping agent that was misused in horse racing. One 1985 randomized double-blind trial (150 postoperative patients) found intrathecal dermorphin gave longer pain relief than intrathecal morphine or intramuscular pentazocine, but it has never been repeated. See the papers.
What dose of Dermorphin was used in studies?
Dermorphin is studied in people. patients with postoperative pain after elective surgery: 20 micrograms single dose. These are amounts used in published studies or official labels, not a recommendation.
What are the side effects of Dermorphin?
Reported in the research: Urinary retention, vomiting and headache. Only one human trial (1985, intrathecal use) reports side effects: urinary retention, vomiting and headache, not significantly different from morphine or pentazocine groups; broader opioid-class risks are uncharacterized for dermorphin.




